International Optician of the Year finalists

International Optician of the Year finalists

The International Opticians Association (IOA), has announced the finalists for the Silmo IOA International Optician of the Year Award. This innovative award, first given at the 2018 Silmo d’OR Ceremony, recognises the importance of the optician in the optical business and their role in the choice of optimum products for their clientele.

The five finalists are:

· Andrew Keirl, FBDO, United Kingdom

· Thierry Caillat, Optician, France

· Thomas Truckenbrod, Optician and Optometrist, Germany

· Steve Stenersen, Dispensing Optician, New Zealand

· Charlie Saccarelli, Master Optician, USA

Fiona Anderson IOA President and Chair of the selection committee said, “We were overwhelmed with the calibre of the nominees this year; the selection committee had a really tough job narrowing down the field to pick our five finalists. We are grateful to our sponsors and colleagues for these nominations and the very difficult task we now have to come in choosing the recipient of the 2019 IOA/Silmo Optician of the Year.”

The winner will be announced on the 28 September 2019 at SILMO Paris. As well as the prestigious award, the winner will also win a trip for 2 to Silmo 2020.

To find out more visit

Robert Grimard

Last years winner Robert Grimard

Topic: Optical News